I’m guessing that growing e.coli might not be all that exciting to most of the world’s population. However, I’m excited because I’ve gotten the opportunity to learn how to do this and Anthony has put his trust in me to do it on my own.

Anthony posted a list of To-Dos for me this week. Today’s task was to start another batch of e.coli. Tomorrow we’ll use this batch to get spectroscopic absorbance readings on samples of 1:10 dilution in DI water, DDW, and 33% D2O. This is what I’ve been waiting for.

Just so you all know, with the exception of last week, everything I’ve done in the lab thus far was when Anthony was here. I’m not sure why, but I was a little nervous last week when I was actually on my own. I shouldn’t have been and I wasn’t today. I’ve taken, and posted, really good notes in my notebook. Today I was glad I did.

I got to the lab ready to start the next culture and discover that not only are we are out of LB broth, there are no autoclaved 50mL triangle beakers that we usually use to mix up this stuff. What we do have autoclaved is a few 150mL cylindrical beakers.

Anthony is busy working on his talk for this afternoon and I didn’t want to bother him and there isn’t enough time for me to autoclave beakers, start new broth (which also requires autoclaving), and make it to Anthony’s talk by 1.

So I improvised.

I used a 150mL beaker, and made 100mL of LB broth using 2g LB broth mixed with 100mL of Dbl processed water (twice the amount from my April 10th recipe).

I measured the LB powder pretty darn close, 2.0008g, poured it into the beaker, added the water and used the magnetic stirrer to get it all mixed up well. I had never actually used the stirrer before, but I watched Anthony and learned a little trick of moving the container around so that the magnet would hit the sides and get all the powder moving.

As I write this, the broth is in the autoclave. I used the same protocol as I wrote about on February 6. Since this is a liquid, it will cook at 250°F for 60 minutes.

I’ll start the broth after Anthony’s talk, before I run off to see Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers later tonight.

