I’m not sure if my rant about politics really belongs in my ONS, but it was suggested to me that I should blog about this. Okay, it’s the day after the ‘blackouts’ and it seems that we have won an initial victory. Apparently Obama has stated that “he refuses to support the controversial SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act).”

What does that really mean? What about PIPA? Will he really veto either bill? What if someone else gets elected?

My take is that we need to stay vigilant and ensure that if the next version of the bill (and there will be a next version) isn’t appropriate, that we rebel… again, and again, and again.

The folks that are behind these bills (i.e. the money behind the bills… and there is a lot of it) have lots of resources; not just money, but time, people, etc. They are probably betting that we (the people) get tired and complacent. They may try to distract us with some other “important” nonsense. Who knows, or cares. TechCrunch  says, “Most inside the Beltway are likely to interpret yesterday’s activities as a flash in the pan, will hunker down to wait out this phase…” Let them hunker, let’s stay informed and active.

I’ve downloaded and read HR 3261 (78 PDF pages) and S.968 (30 PDF pages). Take a look for yourself. Make up your own mind. Know who is responsible and who to contact. Get involved.

H.R. 3261 was introduced by:

  • Mr. Lamar Smith (R), TX
  • Mr. John Conyers (D), MI
  • Mr. Bob Boodlatte (R), VA
  • Mr. Howard Berman (D), CA
  • Mr. Tim Griffin (R), AR
  • Mr. Elton Gallegly (R) CA
  • Mr. Ted Deutch (D), FL
  • Mr. Steve Chabot (R), OH
  • Mr. Dennis Ross (R), FL
  • Mrs. Marsha Blackburn (R), TN
  • Mrs. Mary Bono Mack (R), CA
  • Mr. Lee Terry (R), NE
  • Mr. Adam Schiff (D), CA
S. 968 was introduced by:

  • Mr. Patrick Leahy (D), VT
  • Mr. Orrin Hatch (R), UT
  • Mr. Chuck Grassley (R), IA
  • Mr. Charles Schumer (D), NY
  • Mrs. Dianne Feinstein (D), CA
  • Mr. Sheldon Whitehouse (D), RI
  • Mr. Lindsey Graham (R), SC
  • Mr. Herb Kohl (D), WI
  • Mr. Christopher Coons (D), DE
  • Mr. Richard Blumenthal (D), CT
  • Ms. Amy Klobuchar (D), MN
  • Mr. Al Franken (D), MN